Together we’re golden


And when I said that I would not be leaving
I had one foot out of the door.
There was no way to start the healing
with you lying on my floor.

Your sweet scent and your honey words
Are sticky on my skin.
You want the best of both worlds
But never asked if I was in.

And as the years passed
And my love slowly faded away
Our kisses became chaste
While you whispered in your sleep ‘please stay’.

I can’t be who I am not
Even though I might not know who stares at me through the mirror
I miss who I was
If I could just remember it clearer.

I’ll have to let you go
Before I’m ready to return
Before I can admit to know
Before my soul stops to burn.

I see you lying where I left you
And bend down for a kiss
In this moment I understand our truth
It doesn’t have to be perfect to be bliss.

Without you, too many parts of me are empty
Too many thoughts are left unthought
An angel that heavens sent me
To create our very own smut.

Yes, it is boring when you are not here
And my arms are cold
When you are not near.
I promise, I am fully yours again to have and to hold.

Forever is for never
And we both know it well
And maybe it is most clever
If we keep this between us; promise to never tell.

My naked soul molds perfectly against yours
We waited for hours and a day
Now we are too close
To what we want to run away.

Lies and lines
Written and told
As long as the sun shines (on us)
Our love will be gold.

5 thoughts on “Together we’re golden

share a thought

